Boldness

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines Boldness as, “courageous, intrepid, adventurous, free (a~thinker).” It also notes that “brave and valiant” are synonyms of the word “bold”. Basically, boldness means that saying what you believe is the right thing to do.

We have all heard the story of Rosa Parks standing up for what she believed in on that bus in Montgomery. Her decision to be bold changed the lives of many Americans. It is scary to think where our country would be today if Rosa Parks decided to be fearful of the racist bus driver instead of standing up for what she believes in.

Has there ever been a time when you have been bold? Perhaps you stood up for what you believed in and it helped others or yourself. Has this ever happened to you?

40 Responses to Boldness

  1. Amanda B. says:

    No, not really, even though I really want to sometimes.But that should’nt stop you!

  2. jacob.l. says:

    Not a one

  3. Mac C says:

    not a one

  4. Tess L says:

    What are you guys talking abought?

  5. Alexis J says:

    Pocahantas is boldness I wish my parents would let me be bold.

  6. Kira T says:

    I don’t remember the last time I was beeing bold but I Really want to learn more about boldness.

  7. tyler v says:

    i dont get what your saying boldness is

  8. Shannon D. says:

    My brother Colin. He was being picked on by my other brother,Chris. I did not need to but i thought that Chris should not be picking on his littler brother so i told him to back off. 🙂

  9. Mr. Fowler says:

    Amanda,
    If you haven’t had an opportunity yet, that’s okay. The important thing is that you recognize the siutation when it comes up.

    Alexis,
    Pocahantas was really bold and it changed the lives of a lot of people. If she had been fearful, then perhaps a lot of her people would have been killed. Nice post!

  10. tyler v says:

    what is boldness

  11. Chris A says:

    This year when I didn’t play Football. some kids from the middle school and they were picking on me. I said it doesn’t matter what sports I play or what I do I am still human just like you. So I don’t half to play Football like you I’ll do what I want to do.

  12. Mr. Fowler says:

    Way to go Shannon! Nice job of being bold!

  13. SpencerH says:

    Sometimes I,m not brave and don,t stand up like when i get in trouble for somebody else doing somthing.

  14. Austin D. says:

    once when my friend was gettin hurt by other kids and I stoped it.

  15. Amanda B. says:

    Well…. There was this one time when this kid was picking on this littler kid. And boy, did he feel upset! I chased him through the playground for thirty minutes strait!

  16. Alexis J says:

    both of my cousins are than me and they can’t stick up for them self so i half tostick up for them

  17. Mr. Fowler says:

    Chris… your comment to the middle school kids was awesome. It is really hard sometimes to be bold because you might worry about what other people might say or think of you. The important thing to remember is that you are who you are and as long as you be yourself you will feel better at the end of the day.

  18. tyler v says:

    I GET SO NURVIS BEFORE A RACE IT FELLS LIKE IM GOING TO BARF. BUT I RACE ANY WAY. BUT ONCE YOU GET OUT THERE ITS FUN.

  19. Jessica G. says:

    One time at my old school someone was picking on a little kid and I stood up for him but he didn’t get a black eye or a bloody nose I did and even though it hert so much the little kid didn’t get hert and the guy who was going to beat the little boy up but beat me up got suspended.

  20. Shannon D. says:

    i think boldness is a interesting thing and that we should learn more about it!

  21. jacob.l. says:

    0ne time last year I wouldn’t ride a roller coaster but now I did and it was fun

  22. TaylorE. says:

    I have standed up for what i bilieve when I said that I want to live with my grandma and grandpa.

  23. Sammi E. says:

    OVER THE SUMMER AT DAYCARE ANDREW WAS CALLING HIS BROTHER AUSTIN A BLUBBER NUGGET. I SAID TO ANDREW STOP CALLING YOUR BROTHER NAMES AFTER ANDREW STOPPED I WENT OVER TO AUSTIN AND TALKED TO HIM TO TRY TO MAKE HIM FEEL BETTER. BUT MY BOLDNESS AND KINDNESS DIDN’T PAY OFF. IT MADE HIM FEEL BETTER BUT AFTER THAT DAY HE WAS PICKING ON ME.

  24. Shannon D. says:

    my friend brother saw his littler sister being picked on by another boy so he told him to get of her tail

  25. Jason S says:

    I wish that I would have stood up for someone on my football team because he was getting picked on.

  26. kyle r says:

    mr fowler i liked what you said thanks :-(( :-))

  27. Tess L says:

    What does Bold Mean?

    Take the liberty;dare. 4 too free in manner; impudent; The bold child made faces at us as we passed. See synonym study below. 5 sharp and clear to the eye; strinking; mountans in bold outline agensted the sky. 6 steep; abrupt; bold cliffs.

  28. Louis B. says:

    Once when I went to KCC camp some girl in Bunk1 said to my sister I dont want to play with you because your black. I got really mad. My sister Ashley told me. I seen her the next day at camp. I said why did you say that to my sister how would you like if I said that would you be happy.

  29. karleana T. says:

    When someone was makeing fun of my friend I stood for her and told them to knock it off.

  30. Austin D. says:

    This is not about someone els but once about 4 kids tackled me to the ground and 1 held my hands behind my back and others through sand in my mouth and nose then my friend got on me and tried to hold my face in the sand then I had to stand up for my self.

  31. kyle r says:

    good 🙂 🙂 🙂 job karlenu

  32. Chris A says:

    One time when I was bold was when some kids were calling my friend fat and dumb. I said why do you pick on kids especially kids that are smaller than you. The next time we saw the kids they apolegized that is boldeness from me and character from the kids.

  33. Mr. Fowler says:

    Lou,
    Nice job being bold! It is really hard when people are treating your loved ones with disrespect. It is also really cool that you used a non-violent way to solve the problem. Way to go!

  34. jacob.l. says:

    Do you have boldness?:-]

  35. Ms. Merrill says:

    Dear Mr. Fowler and class,
    I am very impressed by your blog. From some of your posts I had trouble believing that you are in 5th grade and not 7th or 8th–very mature and willing to share your ideas. I feel that I was bold when I moved to a new place (Philadelphia) and started a new job (teaching 6th-8th grade math).

    Mr. Fowler–congratulations on getting such a great class. Class–congratulations on getting such a great teacher. Have a wonderful year!

    -Ms. Merrill, Marion T. Academy

  36. Mr. Fowler says:

    Hey Ms. Merrill,
    Good to hear from you and congratulations on your “bold” move to Philadelphia. Yes, you are correct, we do have a great class and do a good job with responding to each other’s ideas (the College of Ed would be so proud!). Keep checking back as we will have our Podcasts posted soon. Take care!

  37. SpencerH says:

    I stood up for my freind when he was getting picked on.

  38. Tess L [18] says:

    Hi Ms.Merrill!
    It is nice to meat you!

    -Tess L Mr.Fowlers class

  39. Ethan E says:

    Hi Ms.Merrill I wish i are in 8th grade.Wthat school do you work at.

    from
    Ethan

  40. nikkiv. says:

    like mr.fowler side.
    we would love to keep hering from you Ms.Merrill.,Oh ya thinks you for bloging with us.oh and by the way he’s a wonderful teacher.

Leave a Reply

