Martin Luther King Jr.

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was one of the most influential civil rights activits in American history. We will celebrate his accomplishments on Monday, January 15th (Martin Luther King Day). Please follow the link below to learn a little about Dr. Martin Luther King. After visiting the site, I would like for you to consider the following questions:

How would you have felt as Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, as he stood up for what he believed in? What would have been running through your head? Would you be scared? If so, why?

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. gave his famous “I have a dream speech” on August 28th, 1963. What is your dream for this country or for you in terms of equality?

Wikipedia’s Post on Dr. Martin Luther King:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_Luther_King,_Jr.

37 Responses to Martin Luther King Jr.

  1. Tess L. says:

    Hey Mr.Fowler can I bring a poster about Martin Luther King Jr? (-:

  2. Mr. Fowler says:

    If I were MLK I would have been very scared to stand up for what I believed in, especially if people were mad at the things I stood up for. However, I think it is always important to stand up for what you believe in; it shows great character.

  3. Jason S says:

    To make the world I will try to do some comunity work.

  4. Marshall says:

    If I was i M.L.K`s place I would be very angry that know one will treat anyone else as well as themselfs.

  5. Amanda B. says:

    I would be extremely frightened because, I thought “What if I lose” “If that happens, that’s it for me” But I would probably say to myself “It’s for the best”

  6. Jesse C. says:

    I would be nervous standing in front of all of those people and skeaking of something that could offend alot of people if you said one thing wrong.

  7. Austin D. says:

    “I had a dream”……… That in the future white and blacks are not causeing truble and helping each other ,also no ones makeing gun shots so everyone is helpfull to each other.

  8. Shannon D. says:

    i would be nervas! i would wounder if they would support me. if they would agree with me. i would go up there with the weight of the world on my shoulders but i would still go up and explain that i want equality and nothing more but fairness between blacks and whites!

  9. Mr. Fowler says:

    I agree Jesse, it would be scary. However, it is scary sometimes to stand up for what you believe in.

  10. JTD says:

    For MLK day I might do something with my mom and brother. 🙂

  11. Jessica G. says:

    My dream in the future is for everyone to get along so we can have a world that people don’t fight.

  12. Alexis J says:

    I think it was good that he stood up to the world because he made a change if it wasn’t for his speech we would still be haveing african american bathrooms and white bathrooms instead of girls and boys bathrooms.

  13. Tess L. says:

    Thank you!

  14. Jacob.l says:

    To make the coutry better, I hope for people to clean pollution and stop global warming.

  15. ethan says:

    If I was MLK I would be scared because he is talkins in front of a lot of people.

  16. Mr. Fowler says:

    Nice point Alexis… it is tough to think of two different bathrooms.

  17. Shannon D. says:

    i belive that MLK is really brave for going up infront of all those people just so he could explain his fellings towards equality!

  18. Tess L. says:

    Hey Marshall you have a great post!

  19. Marshall says:

    I think that equality in the U.S is very good but in some of the states in the U.S have very low opinions of black and white. I want that to go away.

  20. Sierra H says:

    To make the world a better place is to try and help out with comunity.

  21. Austin D. says:

    In the future To help the world I will try to clean up pollution and try to rebuild houses and come up with a NEW kind of gas that can not kill animals

  22. TaylorE. says:

    MLK did the right thing I would do the same. To make the world a better place I would try helping by giving people food soap fighting even more for civilization.

  23. Amanda B. says:

    If people just thought about what they did the world would be somewhat better

  24. Shannon D. says:

    i belive we should stop killing endangered animals!

  25. Alexis J says:

    but my question is how would you know which bathroom was which back before MLK speech.

  26. Jesse C. says:

    DON’T YOU MEAN FOUR DIFFERENT BATHROOMS

  27. Austin D. says:

    In the future To help the world I will try to clean up pollution and try to rebuild houses and come up with a NEW kind of gas that can not kill animals.

  28. Jacob.l says:

    Good posts everyone!

  29. Shannon D. says:

    * i think that if we just say what we fell it will turn out better if we keep it up inside!*

  30. Tess L. says:

    If Martin Luther King Jr was still alive he would be probaly Bloging with us there would be probaly be a lot of posts! -:)

  31. Austin B. says:

    Well my dream is to stop gang wars and polution. We need to stop gang wars because we are loosing the lives of childrens fathers and other family members and the bullet holes that go around LA,are taring up there neighber hoods. Also we need to stop polution because if we dont stop polution than Green land is going to melt and parts of Forida are ganna be under water and it’s bad for our O Zone layer and our air. If we dont stop these things than we are going to be in BIG TROUBLE!

  32. Chris A says:

    I think it would have been tough to be Martain Luther King Jr. He didn’t care what the people said aslong as the people of all colors could get along. I wouldn’t have had the guts to stand up to all those people and most of them hated me. Also he had the guts to protest. Even when the people would cuss at him and spit on him he would keep cool and collected when the other protesters wanted to fight. So would you have the guts of Martain Luther King Jr. I know I shure wouldn’t.

    sincerely,
    Chris Acton

  33. Tess L. says:

    It was made by my sister!

  34. Sammi E. says:

    I THINK I WOULD HAVE FELT PRETTY PROUD BECAUSE YOU STANDING UP FOR YOUR EQUAL RIGHTS. PLUS YOU HAVE PEOPLE LOOKING UP TO YOU YOUR A ROLE MODLE FOR SOME CITIZENS ACROSS AMERICA. RACIAL COMENTS SOMETIMES BOTHER PEOPLE AND ALSO ME. EVEN THOUGH I’M NOT A DIFFERENT COLOR I STILL HAVE ALBINISUM AND I DO GET TEASED ALOT AT MY DAYCARE. MY DREAM FOR THIS CONTRY IS TO HAVE EVERYONE NICE AND COURTIUS. ALSO, I THINK PEOPLE SHOULD JUST STOP KIDNAPPING LITTLE KIDS OR TOURMENTING OTHER PEOPLE. THEN HAVE PEOPLE BE SENT TO PRISON AND THEY DIED ON THE DEATH PENOLTY AND THEN HAVE PEOPLE SAY “THEY SHOULDN’T HAVE GOTTEN KILLED.” BUT THEY TOURCHERED OTHER PEOPLE. AND I WOULDN’T FEEL SCARED GIVING A SPEACH IN FRONT OF MILLIONS OF PEOPLE BECAUSE YOUR STANDING UP FOR YOUR RIGHTS!

Leave a Reply

