What do you do to make people feel welcome?

 

This is an awesome video with a great message. Basically, the short video describes how kids can feel bullied and left out in school. Here are a few of the lyrics (words) from the song:

You don’t know what it’s like to be hurt, to feel lost, to be left out in the dark. To be on the edge of breaking down and no one’s there to save you. No you don’t know what it’s like… welcome to my life.

I think that the writers of the song (Simple Plan) hit home on the fact that there are a lot of kids and adults in this world who don’t feel included, feel bullied, and have no one to talk to about their problems.  The video mentions that 100,000 (that’s right, I said 100,000!!!) kids drop out of school every year because they DON’T FEEL COMFORTABLE IN SCHOOL!

My question to you (and if you’re in my class, you know that I always have a question) is what do you do to make people in your school feel included? What about on the athletic field? Do you work as a team? Is there someone that you think might not feel included while at school? What are YOU going to do about this?

16 Responses to What do you do to make people feel welcome?

  1. Mrs. Kallgren says:

    What a great short film. The message is profound. I am forwarding it on to two other schools, one in New York, the other in Ohio. The drop the note idea is a great one!
    Simple ideas with “great music” often are the most effective.
    Thanks for sharing
    Mrs. Kallgren

  2. kyle says:

    This movie is awesome and I have felt like this when I would have to go to a new school and I told my friends and they were mad at me so I got bullied by them and they pushed me around. This song is amazing it should make everyone feel beter about themselves.

  3. Tyler V says:

    The song sounded pretty cool but the video was kind of sad

  4. Amanda B. says:

    The song is good, and the video sends a good message.

  5. Tess L. says:

    I think that all those kids need to help each other to help prevent bullying to other people at their school.

  6. JTD says:

    I think it makes people feal good to help people with problems.
    🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. Chris A says:

    I think this is a very important topic. All kids have the right to feel welcomed in school, sporting events, and any other places. This video helped me realize that by just saying hi or you look nice today can keep someone from dropping out of school.

    sincerely,
    Chris.A.

  8. Mr. Fowler says:

    Good point Tyler! It is sad to think about people feeling left out and leaving school. I feel good though because we have talked a lot about character and I think our class can really help these kind of people out.

  9. Ethan says:

    I think people all over the world are like that. Some things to help hin are to say hi to hin in the moring ,be nice and ask if want to come to your house.

    from,Ethan

  10. Kira T. says:

    What am I going to do about it? I’m going to say hello in the morning, ask people how their weekend went, what their doing this weekend, ask them if they want to come and play with me, last I will ask them if something is wrong and try to give my best opinion to help them.

  11. karleana T. says:

    I think this film is really cool and it makes me feel like i really want to help someone.

  12. sierra says:

    If someone in your school or family is left out make them feel welcomed by asking how was thier day. Or say hi in the mornig. Just do something to make them feel welcomed.

  13. Mrs. LaValley says:

    I thought the video and its message was awesome, and I am glad that Mr. Fowler’s class got to see it. I have enjoyed reading the 12 comments that have been made. Doing the simple things for people is quite powerful. In the end, everyone becomes happier and appreciated.

  14. Mrs. Heck says:

    Just simply saying hello to someone that you don’t know can be scary. If you looked at it from the other person’s point of view they may be scared to say hello too. Venture out and make the first move.

    The world is telling us – “it is all about me”. I feel if we turn the saying around so the “it is all about others” we wouldn’t have people feeling lonely.

    Don’t be scared – say hi – how’s it going?

  15. Mr. Fowler says:

    This is a great conversation! I am really amazed at the suggestions people have on making others feel welcomed. I completely agree with Mrs. Heck when she says, “The world is telling us – “it is all about me.” We talk about selfishness a lot in class and it is because the media and society in some cases urges people to be selfish… to only look out for yourself… to make sure you’re taken care of. Like Mrs. LaValley says, “Doing the simple things for people is quite powerful.” The solution to this problem is simple, JUST BE NICE!

    But why does our society have a tough time with this? Why do some kids in elementary, middle, and high school, have trouble just saying “Hey” to someone? I think the answer is character. We need to constantly ask ourselves, “Is this decision demonstrating good character?” If not… then it’s probably not the best choice and you would be better off making another decision.

  16. Jen says:

    Wow I just found this video by chance. It’s great! I think I’ll pass it along to my Youth Pastor.

    One thing kids and people forget is smiling at someones it just helps everyone! Also just creating an welcoming setting for kids and grown ups makes everyone feel better about themselves. Most of the time helping someone make us feel better too.

    It’s great to see some teachers posting on here as well! You guys go and run with the message of kindness and helping others feel accepted!

Leave a Reply

