Calling All Nintendo DS Users!

  One student in our class owns a shirt that says, “No homework until my videogames are done!”. At first I thought it was a pretty funny shirt, but then it made me think, “What if videogames were homework?”Recently, I observed a youngster using the “Pict-o-chat” function on a Nintendo DS. In essence, the child can simply join a chat session with any DS users in the room and have a conversation! After taking a look at the Pict-o-chat screen, I noticed that (kids… cover your ears) the students were not only communicating, but writing!

I can’t tell you how often students don’t want to write, but to see them openly communicating via the DS was awesome! Granted, at the time, spelling was not an issue and the students were not working to problem solve, but I think there may be an educational value to the Pict-o-chat feature of the Nintendo DS. While I don’t have any current plans to use the DS, I am planning on investigating it as a possible tool to use in the classroom for group work and problem solving. Any thoughts?

 

10 Responses to Calling All Nintendo DS Users!

  1. Chelsea says:

    Mr. Fowler I love that idea! It is an awsome way to comunicate with others and I love pict-o-chating.

  2. Brittany says:

    I agree with u and Chealsea. That is a great idea to use a D.S to communicate.

  3. Kody says:

    I think it would be fun to work on the ninteo D.S. in our class.

  4. Mr. Fowler says:

    I agree it will be cool, but what can we do? Any ideas, games, activities?

  5. Christina says:

    I know some games that are educational to play with the nintendo ds.The games are Brain Age,Brain Age2,sudoko.

  6. Deqwan says:

    I love that idea we would have lots of fun.

  7. Trevor 1 says:

    I think it is amazing that Mr. Fowler let’s us do that. He is the BEST!

  8. Marshall C. says:

    That sounds like a lot of fun and I think you should at least give it a try! I only wish we could do that here at the MS.

  9. Marshall C. says:

    Talking to Christina. here are a lot more “brain games” than just those three. You could find them without to much touble if you went to google search. Type in something like DS brain games.

  10. Mike Vuolo says:

    I just got Professor Layton and the Curious Village for my fiance’s DS, and it’s many of the same kind of puzzles that we see on standardized tests in DC. I’m probably going to bring it in an let my kids play that game a bit. (5-7 grade, sped)

    I’m looking for some kind of grant that would let me buy a few of them for my room.

Leave a Reply

